East Quogue, Long Island
A very large oak tree had stood for decades along Old Country Road in East Quogue. In 1894, the tree was damaged by fire and removed. In recent time, a portion of the tree is still on display at the Old Schoolhouse Museum. There are some families considered direct descendants of East Quogue with family names such as Carter, Phillips, Downs, Jackson, Ryder, Squires, Foster, Halsey, Culver, Vail, and Hallock which are not simply street names from over a century but they are the names of families still active in the community. There are still many families who arrived just before the turn of-the-century and are still active for today with names including Sacks, Kuroski, Kracke, Mendenhall, Wright, and Densieski. The area is known for its rich history that makes East Quogue a great place to live, work, and take a vacation.
Most of the resident ancestries were Italian, Irish, German, Polish, and English. The East Quogue Union Free School District is served the entire community by helping education interests of each student and provides sufficient and adequate guidelines for implementation. In East Quogue, Children in grades k-6 attended The East Quogue Elementary School and those in the grades 7-12 attended Westhampton Beach High School. The community has also plenty of beautiful old-styled homes, historic bed & breakfasts, a town boat ramp, beaches, and old-fashioned shops. Carole's Bed and Breakfast is one of the famous inns in town with complete amenities and very affordable room rates. It was built with beautifully restored Victorian home with a wrap-around porch and swimming pool. The ocean bays also provide lots of opportunities for swimming, fishing and boating, water skiing, and windsurfing. Historic sites and museums include Old Schoolhouse Museum that it was said to be “the largest and best in Suffolk County”. The museum is a collection of remnants of Quogue’s early history. East Quogue is the perfect place for spending time together with your family and friends.