LI Catering Halls

   For Immediate Release: August 1, 2014

Innovative Suffolk Scholarship Program Offers Free Ride to Qualified Students

Long Island Press Releases

(Long Island, NY) A scholarship program conceived by Suffolk County Community College President Dr. Shaun L. McKay in 2011 to halt Long Island’s “brain drain” by keeping talented, motivated students on Long Island and attending Long Island Colleges and Universities has awarded scholarships totaling approximately $640,000 annually to 31 Suffolk County Community College students. The program has awarded more than $3 million in scholarships to 110 Suffolk County Community College students since its inception, President McKay said.

“The Stay on Long Island Initiative (SoLII) helps our graduates achieve their academic dreams by continuing their education at quality four-year colleges and universities right here in our region,” President McKay said.

The initiative, McKay explained, provides full and partial-tuition scholarships to current Suffolk County Community College students who graduate and transfer to partnering four-year Long Island colleges that include: Adelphi University, Briarcliffe College, Dowling College, Farmingdale State College, Five Towns College, Hofstra University, LIU Post, LIU Riverhead, LIU Brentwood, New York Institute of Technology, The College at Old Westbury, St. John’s University, St. Joseph’s College and Stony Brook University. Molloy College in Rockville Center is expected to join the scholarship program shortly.

2014 SoLII Scholarship Recipients:

Ammerman Campus

  • Nathalie Horta: Adelphi University
  • Bryan Nee: Dowling College
  • Robert Kowalski: Farmingdale State College
  • Taylor Biondi: LIU Brentwood
  • Nicholas Frazier: LIU Post
  • Mary Semour: LIU Post
  • Sawsan Elkurd: LIU Riverhead
  • Shanygne Maurice: St. John’s University
  • James Stundis: St. Joseph’s College
  • Logan Farrell: St. Joseph’s College
  • Rebecca Serini: St. Joseph’s College
  • Angelina Curley: Stony Brook University

Eastern Campus

  • Jeanatte Ouldelhkim :Briarcliffe College
  • Milton Farez: LIU Post
  • Destiny Bates: NYIT
  • Rachel Cipriano: St. Joseph’s College
  • Jeffery Bergenti: St. Joseph’s College
  • Jennifer Ilgaz: St. Joseph’s College
  • Alexandra Norbury: Stony Brook University

Michael J. Grant Campus

  • Felipe Espitia-Cetina: Adelphi University
  • Megan Cahill-Assenza: Adelphi University
  • Ashley Sparks: Adelphi University
  • Jaclyn Langella: Hofstra University
  • Natalie Dubas: LIU Brentwood
  • Amanda Jones: LIU Post
  • Courtney Musumeci: LIU Riverhead
  • Maryam Rabbani: NYIT
  • Kevin Lopez: Old Westbury
  • Vincent Mistretta: St. Joseph’s College
  • Ashley Muroff: St. Joseph’s College
  • Cassandra Nyati: Stony Brook University

Suffolk County Community College students who are interested in the SoLII scholarships program should contact the SoLII initiative office:

Telephone: (631) 851-6847

For more information visit:

This site uses Facebook comments below to make it easy to leave a comment about this release. If you see a comment you would like to flag as spam or abuse, click the "x" in the upper right-hand corner. By commenting you agree to our Terms of Use.

Long Island Press Releases Local press releases or news can be sent to: Select items may appear here as detailed in our terms of service. Long Island Exchange has a strict yet fair editorial policy. Due to the overwhelming number of releases we receive there is NO GUARANTEE your material will be published. News is reviewed on a first-come first-serve basis. Get notified about new releases as soon as it hits the wire by subscribing.


To advertise your business on Long Island Exchange ® please call 631-592-4425